2018-2019 Texas A&M University 3 Minute Thesis Competition

Texas A&M University hosted its sixth annual Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) Final Competition on November 15th in the Rudder Forum and Exhibit Hall from 6:00 – 8:30 p.m. An audience of around 200 people watched as 13 graduate students (3 master’s and 10 doctoral) took just three minutes and a single PowerPoint slide to summarize their research and its significance, showcasing outstanding communication skills and command of the room. The diverse judging panel included community leaders, TAMU faculty and the Graduate and Professional Student Council. 

3MT is a research communication competition originally developed by The University of Queensland (UQ) in 2008. Over time the contest exploded in popularity, and 3MT contests now occur worldwide at over 600 universities/institutions across 65 countries. Advancing from a preliminary round in which more than 50 students competed, finalists came from a wide cross section of graduate programs across campus and competed for cash prizes and a chance to represent Texas A&M at the regional 3MT competition in Knoxville, Tennessee.  The audience also selected 2 competitors for the coveted People’s Choice award. 

Master’s Division Winners

Name 3MT Title Prize(s)
Kathryn Edmunds Drive to Thrive
First Place
People’s Choice
Vaishnavi Venkatesh Automating Routing for Analog Circuits Runner-Up

Doctoral Division Winners

Name 3MT Title Prize(s)
Amy Tan Can You Hear Me Now?:  Development and Regrowth of Cells for Hearing First Place
People’s Choice
Aditya Panta Reward Circuit in Your Brain Runner-Up *

 *Advances to represent Texas A&M at the Regional 3MT Competition

Master's Competition Finalists

Kathryn Edmunds (Master's Winner)


Department: Agriculture Leadership, Education & Communication
3MT Title: Drive to Thrive

Kathryn Edmunds' Power Point Slide

Gwendolyn Inocencio

Department: Veterinary Integrated Biology
3MT Title:  It's Not Insanity - It's Science!

Gwendolyn Inocencio's Power Point Slide

Vaishnavi Venkatesh (Runner-Up)


Department: Electrical and Computer Engineering
3MT Title: Automating Routing For Analog Circuits

Vaivshnavi Venkatesh's Power Point Slide

Doctoral Competition Finalists

Ahmed Aziz Ezzat


Department: Industrial & Systems Engineering
3MT Title: Wind Energy: A New Solution To A 5000 Year Old Problem

Ahmeh Aziz Ezzat's Power Point Slide

Cecilia Klauber


Department: Electrical and Computer Engineering
3MT Title: Improving Power Grid Awareness during Solar Storms

Cecilia Klauber's Power Point Slide

Maryam Mansoori

Department: Architecture
3MT Title: Toward Adaptive Architecture

Maryam Mansoori's Power Point Slide

Amanda Mathias


Department: Animal Science
3MT Title: Safety in Numbers: Social Isolation Increases Behavioral Responses of Cattle during Startle Tests

Amanda Mathias's Power Point Slide

Jordyn Michalik

Department: Microbial Pathogenesis and Immunology
3MT Title: Treating Antibiotic Resistant Bacteria with Bacteriophage: Harnessing a Natural Predator 

Jordyn Michalik's Power Point Slide

Aditya Panta (Runner-Up)


Department: Neuroscience
3MT Title: Reward Circuit in Your Brain

Aditya Panta's Power Point Slide

Joana Rocha


Department: Large Animal Clinical Sciences
3MT Title: A Broad Spectrum Vaccine to Benefit World Health

Joana Rocha's Power Point Slide

Amirali Selahi


Department: Biomedical Engineering
3MT Title: The Future of Drug Testing

Amirali Selahi's  Power Point Slide

Amy Tan (Doctoral Winner)


Department: Biology
3MT Title: Can You Hear Me Now?: Development and Regrowth of Cells for Hearing

Amy Tan's Power Point Slide

Jiayong Zhu


Department: Chemical Engineering
3MT Title: Advanced Heavy Gas Dispersion Model

Jiayong Zhu's Power Point Slide

Students who Competed in the Preliminary Competition

Master's Participants

Kelly Dray - PBSI Diana Marcela Gomez Gomez - PETE
Tokunbo Falohun - BMEN Patrick Walgren - AERO
Xiaoqing Shen - SCSC  

Doctoral Participants

Na Young Ahn - HLKN Vucki Mikuria - TALC
Ogbonnaya Bassey - ECEN Adriana Hernandez Morales - BCBP
Ankita Bhat - BMEN Michaela Pfau - BMEN
Yifeng Cheng - CLMD Quinton Porter - MEEN
Blake Commer - PLPM Suraj Prakash - ECEN
Ananya Dasgupta - BIOL Kambiz Rasoulkhani - CVEN
Ping Dong - BMEN Lauren Redmore - RPTS
Dinara Dussenova - PETE Carolina Mantilla Rojas - BCBP
Iqra Ejaz - ISEN Piruz Saboury - ECON
Sahar Eshghjoo - POSC Cassandra Skenandore - VTPP
Amit K. Ghoshal - RPTS Sahinya Susindar - ISEN
Shannon Hodges - ANTH Qi Wang - CHEM
Jocelyn Holt - ENTO Diana Wandix-White - TLAC
Haifeng Jin - CSCE Shavonn Reezale Whiten - ENTO
Haemin Kim - TLAC Bin Wu - MEEN
Krishna Kumar - BIOL Aya Yoshikawa - HPCH
Shreedevi Arun Kumar - BMEN Brian Young - CHEM
Pedro Batista Camara Leal - AERO Fei Yu - VIBS
Jianping Li - CHEN Rana Soltani Zarrin - MEEN
Yun Li - EPSY Amin Zeiaee - MEEN
Layal Maddah - CVEN Yupeng Zhang - MEEN


Defense Announcements

Upcoming Events