Congratulations to Kelly Lemmons who won the 3Minute Thesis competition. Mr. Lemmons will advance and represent to Texas A&M University at the 3 Minute Thesis competition hosted by the Conference of Southern Graduate Schools in San Antonio, TX on February 22, 2014.

Kelly Lemmons: Winner
Pictured with Dr. Butler-Purry, Associate Provost for the Office of Graduate and Professional Studies
Department: Geography
Degree Level: PhD
Advisor: Dr. Jonathan Smith
3MT Title: Short Term Study Abroad
Research Description: This research measures the degree to which students interact with the host culture on a short-term study abroad and offers suggestions to make the experience more impactful.

Matthew Berg - Runner-Up


The judges also selected a Runner-Up title for the competition :

Matthew Berg: Runner-Up
Department: Ecosystem Science and Management
Degree Level: PhD
Advisor: Dr. Brad Wilcox
3MT Title: Long-term chances Of Dynamic Rangelands and Impacts On Water Resources
Research Description: Using airborne and satellite photography combined with lake sediment analysis, I investigate how rangelands have changed since the beginning of the 20th century and what that means for water supplies in the future.

The attending audience voted for their favorite participant and selected the People's Choice award : Rhushabh Bhandari - People's Choice

Rhushabh Bhandari: People's Choice Award Winner

Department: Computer Science & Engineering
Degree Level: Masters
Advisor: Dr. Ricardo Gutierrez-Osuna
3MT Title: Biofeedback Mobile Games for Stress Management
Research Description: We developed methods to detect heart rate and respiration rate using the mobile camera. We will integrate this with applications to reduce stress in a user such as biofeedback based mobile games.


Congratulations to the 3 Minute Thesis winners and thank you to the judges for the competition! We had a great turnout at the 3 Minute Thesis event on Thursday, November 21, 2013. Over 100 faculty, staff and students joined us for the inaugural competition.

3MT Winners & Judges

The judges and winners pictured left to right: Dr. Joanne Lupton, Dr. Christine Ehlig-Economides, Dr. Joe Feagin, Rhushabh Bhandari - People's Choice, Matthew Berg - Runner-Up, Kelly Lemmons - Winner, Dr. John Crompton, Ms. Brittney Bounds, and Dr. Deborah Bell-Pedersen.

Defense Announcements

Upcoming Events